• Advertisement
The Singapore Forum is closed

Image

Much like our beloved Nigel, the sewing circle is no longer in action. The Singapore Forum will be kept up so the wealth of information collected over the years can still be found and used, but there won't be anything new.

Thanks to everyone that made The Singapore Forum, in all it's guises, a fun, informative and comfortable place to hang out while dodging work.

The Singapore Forum Mourners Society can be found on FaceBook. Just click on the icon below.
Image

RAID help

Bits, Bytes & Bootstraps

Moderator: Jedi

RAID help

Postby Sardonicus » 18th Dec, '13, 00:28

My WD 2TB RAID 1 unit is behaving strangely.

The software that monitors it, WD Drive Manager, says the unit is healthy and at 77% full, but the Notification Tray indicator for this service toggles between RAID0 and RAID1 (how it should be configured).

Copying to this drive is taking ages.

Any ideas?
I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book. Groucho Marx
User avatar
Sardonicus
Going Postal
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: 25th Apr, '08, 00:59
Mood: It's academic

Advertisement

Re: RAID help

Postby Morrolan » 18th Dec, '13, 09:35

change out one drive, see if that solves the issue. if not, replace the second drive. if that doesn't solve the problem your unit is probably busted or going bust and you should consider getting a new one.
User avatar
Morrolan
Part of the furniture
 
Posts: 4118
Joined: 14th Feb, '08, 07:30
Location: Singapore
Mood: sceptical

Re: RAID help

Postby baloo » 18th Dec, '13, 13:02

Does the nas have SMART monitoring of the drives ? Run smart.

But don't stop the file copy whatever you do.
So…if you wish to wish a wish, you may swish for fish with my Ish wish dish.
User avatar
baloo
Can't find the exit
 
Posts: 7589
Joined: 14th Feb, '08, 00:01
Location: Here, there & everywhere
Mood: exhausted

Re: RAID help

Postby Sardonicus » 18th Dec, '13, 20:35

Sadly I don't know how to run SMART, but WD have their own SMART-like monitoring, which is what I think the Drive Manager is doing (it shows in the Windows Notification Area). I do notice that it toggles from RAID0 to RAID1, which is troubling.....

Plus the Disk Management utility shows it as healthy. It has 34% free space.
I find television very educating. Every time somebody turns on the set, I go into the other room and read a book. Groucho Marx
User avatar
Sardonicus
Going Postal
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: 25th Apr, '08, 00:59
Mood: It's academic

Re: RAID help

Postby Morrolan » 20th Dec, '13, 08:39

thing is, if it keeps changing settings, you may no longer be able to rely on anything it tells you, including Disk Management reports.

after an incident a few years back with a WD unit which cost me $1,400 to get my data back, i stay away as far as i can from the brand.
User avatar
Morrolan
Part of the furniture
 
Posts: 4118
Joined: 14th Feb, '08, 07:30
Location: Singapore
Mood: sceptical

Re: RAID help

Postby Pinklepurr » 20th Dec, '13, 09:55

I can honestly say I know very very little about computers really, however I do know that the WD Smartware for use with me portable hard drive, was the cause of an overworking CPU. Some checking on the internet showed that I was not the only one, it is now uninstalled and the reason I am looking for alternative means of backup.
"Always turn and look when your cat gazes behind you with that intent look in her eyes. Some day there might actually be something there." - Anonymous
User avatar
Pinklepurr
I post here professionally
 
Posts: 2464
Joined: 20th Feb, '08, 11:44
Location: quietly chilled in Melbourne...


Return to Geeks & Gadgets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

468x60-2-495
cron